Excellent Read
By Erica Savy-Ward Australia See all my reviews
This review is from: (Amazon Kindle sale)

Rosie, I thoroughly enjoyed your book and I saw a lot of myself in Anna, aside from sharing the same surname. It took me back to my birthplace of Glacis where I grew up with my big family of 8 siblings. My father was also a plantation owner and he too grew everything you mentioned on Mr Du Barre’s plantation. I loved the way you described everyone and everything in detail and it evoked so many childhood memories. I couldn’t wait to turn the pages and some I even re-read to my husband who isn’t a Seychellois. Thank you and congratulations on making so many Seychellois people proud of you and I cannot wait for the next one.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Just Awesome!!
By Dennis Hicks Trinidad and USA See all my reviews
This review is from: (Amazon Paperback sale)

Just Awesome! Human behavioural changes will overcome you for the better in both Body and Soul.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Left me wanting to read the next one . . .
This review is from: (Amazon Kindle sale)

From the first pages Echoes grabbed my attention. The little details of island living really made one feel they were in it. You will fall in love with the characters and want to know their life’s journey. I can’t wait until the next one comes out!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
By Sandie Jewell See all my reviews
This review is from: UK (Amazon Paperback Sale)

I thoroughly enjoyed reading your book and I am looking forward to the sequel . . . What happens to the heroine? It was especially fascinating for me as my grandparents lived there from 1910 to 1918. Between late 1914 and early 1918 my grandmother was alone with three children due to World War One. It painted a picture of life there.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
By Rocio Vallejo Garcia See all my reviews
This review is from: (Amazon sale)

Can’t wait for the next book, what a beautiful story!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
By Dr Guy Ah-Moye See all my reviews
This review is from: Seychelles (Paperback)

Copies of “Echoes from the Oasis” should be in every local library, and in every bookshop. Rosie is a role model for our young generations. We need more local authors.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
A woman who finds herself caught up in a forbidden love affair while also succeeding in breaking the traditional role . . . – on April 29, 2016
By Rose-Marie Clark See all my reviews
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)

“I was addicted to this treasure of a novel from page one. The history, the sights, the smells, the cuisine and the culture were described in such captivating and transparent language that I almost felt that I was there again . . .

This story is as real as it gets in terms of describing the importance of class hierarchies, family relationships and expectations and even business goals and disagreements . . .

The protagonist of this historical romance is a young woman named Anna Savy. A woman who finds herself caught up in a forbidden love affair while also succeeding in breaking the traditional role of a single white female by establishing for herself an accomplished career as a nurse . . .

Love, faith, goodness, loyalty, hate, betrayal, evil and superstition combine to take the reader on an extraordinary adventure of the highs and lows of mankind’s journey through life . . .

In terms of the nation of Seychelles in the early twentieth century, we are given an historically accurate view of a country in the early stages of modern development, struggling for survival and having to face the reality of a world at war . . .

You do not have to be a Seychellois to enjoy this book and garner meaningful insights from it. It challenges all humanity to consider if pride and social norms should come before love and forgiveness ? Is faith in God fickle and double minded ? Can hope conquer despair ? It is with great anticipation that I await the sequel to Echoes from the Oasis “.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Reviews – on March 15, 2016
By Defoe See all my reviews
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Kidle Edition)

A.R Tirant captures the essence of Seychelles from her earliest years and spins her yarn through her heroine. Her Seychelles experience comes not from the limited view of a ‘tourist’ to this idyllic archipelago, but from generations of being Seychellois. The thread transports her readers back more than a hundred years and weaves a tale of gripping sequences, breathless escapes, harrowing episodes, passion, love and great joy. It’s a real page turner wherein all may not be lost as the reader reaches the final page and wants to turn another. . .

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Reviews – January 2016
By By Carol Giuseppi. See all my reviews
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis

In my search, this week, for some reading material I came across the novel at caption advertised on Amazon.

Unsure if I would be interested I opted for the limited free version. Immediately thereafter I purchased the full copy and amazingly I was intrigued with the beautiful storyline.

Needless to say I absolutely enjoyed this book, in particular, for me, there was an interesting historical similarity in the life and mixed cultures of the Seychelles and that as existed decades ago in Trinidad. So relatable.

I will, soon, re-read as I think I may have missed some of the details in my anxiety to get to the end.

Too, I will in due course obtain a hard copy as a personal library addition while I wait for the next in the series.

Thanks and congratulations to the Author who incidentally I had the pleasure of a brief communication. What a gracious woman. Continued success.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Reviews – January 2016
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis

I cannot thank you enough for your novel “Echoes from the Oasis”, an insightful look into the history of our beautiful islands.

You have brought out really realistic characters notably, the heroine Anna, “ a passionate nature loving and rebellious young woman” in an era where women had to respect the rules of society installed by men!! There is certainly between Anna and I an osmosis… We understand each other!!!

Your novel has judiciously brought out the struggles of a young nation to survival, a struggle between the beauty of nature and its limitations… Between life and death, love and hatred.

I sincerely hope that your novel will be in all the schools of Seychelles so that the young generations will learn about the struggles of their forefathers to build this nation. So that our people will understand and learn to appreciate what has been achieved throughout the years and especially for us women and our present status in society.

Seychelles is today a matriarchal society, far from Anna’s world, where women tend to be the ones to run businesses and are also very present in politics!

I cannot wait for your next Novel.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
A beautiful, engaging and totally addictive read on 1 November 2015
By By Jayne MSee all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)

This book was absolutely brilliant!! It’s not the usual genre of book that I read but it was recommended by a friend and I was not disappointed. Reading this book I was transported to a far away land where I learned so much of the culture and struggles of the people on this beautiful island. I found this book to be so engaging, not only for the historical / factual content but for the totally addictive storyline too. I had many a late night while reading this book because I simply could not put it down. To read about the lives of people in the Seychelles at this time was incredibly humbling, more so because I have family connections to this and surrounding islands. This book truly made me appreciate my heritage.

I am eagerly awaiting the second book as I cannot wait to find out what happens! Don’t worry, no spoiler alerts required here!! Rosie, you are an inspiration and I’m so pleased to not only see your book in print but to have read it and thoroughly enjoyed it too. Absolutely brilliant, thank you.

I would highly recommend this book.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Gifted book for honest review. juliesbookreview.blogspot.com June 23, 2015
By By Theresa FSee all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Kindle Edition)

Echoes from the Oasis is a historical fiction novel set in the Republic of Seychelles in the early 1900s. For those of you who are not familiar with the country (I must admit I had no geographical knowledge of the area until reading this book), the Republic of Seychelles is 115 islands in the Indian Ocean, more than 1,000 east of Southeast Africa. The climate is tropical and the inhabitants are descendants of British and French colonists and African slaves.

The author herself was born in the Seychelles in the 1950s. She crafts an intriguing story of her home country, weaving in the gorgeous scenery and the customs and beliefs of the inhabitants. The story begins with Anna, a teenage girl who breaks social custom and becomes a nurse. Anna meets a young man, Louis, who is a member of the wealthy Du Barre family. Anna and Louis fall in love – even consummating their love — which is considered taboo in the strict Catholic society on the island. The couple plans to marry but a shipwreck and other complications wrench the them apart. Do Anna and Louis ever find each other again?

I enjoyed this historical romance, particularly the fact that the plotline was really unique. I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading about new locations and accurate depictions of historical eras.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Beautiful, well written April 20, 2015
By By David SinonSee all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)

From the minute I started reading the book, I did not want to put it down. Beautiful, well written, captured the essence of the islands. It took me back to my childhood days which made me nostalgic as well as confirmed and made me relive what was once told to me by my elders. A must to be read by any Seychellois descendants. Well done Rosie Tirant

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Well done Rose, 26 April 2015
By By Robert GrandcourtSee all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)

In Echoes from the Oasis, Rosie Tirant skilfully take us on a journey back in time to share the love, trial and tribulations of our forbearers. Her descriptive talent give credence to her plot, animate her characters and transport us into the unfolding drama of a young woman during Colonial and pre-tourism Seychelles. It is a rare and pleasant experience to read a novel where the places, people and even the smell are familiar. This novel merits its excellent reviews and deserves a place in the records of our past.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Excellent, fascinating and enchanting love story!, April 7, 2015
By By Therese VossSee all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Kindle Edition)

Just finished and absolutely love this beautiful, gripping, well written and historically sound story. Can’t wait to read the sequel.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Very good historical novel on March 10, 2015
By By Derek AndrewsSee all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Kindle Edition)

Very nice to read. A good book about Seychelles Island. This historical novel contains a very beautiful love story. The Author described with beautiful words throughout the story.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Echoes from the Oasis, 2 April 2015
By By Daniella Uzice See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Kindle Edition)

Tremendously enjoyed this book cannot wait for the next series… I now live in Seychelles and it was lovely reading about the old traditions.. very sad story … please hurry with the next instalment. Would recommend to any reader especially Josephine Cox fans.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Amazing love story!!! 30 January 2015
By By Catherin (Seychelles) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)

Amazing love story!!! The story has romance, rival, revenge, love, marriage and culture.The beauty of Seychelles described in the book has inspired me to visit this beautiful Island. What touched me the most is, how a women manages and learn in every movement of her life about the society, family, status and her priority in life. I was waiting throughout the novel, when can I find Luis alive? and alas I have to wait for the second novel… to see whether Louis is alive? and How Catherine will face her part of life in this enormous world?. Every incident written in this novel is breath taking and I would encourage all readers to read this novel and surly will enjoy. God Bless the author Rosie Tirant.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Echoes from the oasis, 8 Feb. 2015
By By Esthella Rassool (Seychelles) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)

Pure escapism! The book took me back to another world, where life in Seychelles was purer and people simpler. The author, managed to capture the beauty of the island and one can actually visualize Seychelles in a bygone era. I could relate to so many little anecdotes going on in the different families. The book made me smile, and I was at pains to put in down. What a beautiful Xmas present it was and I can only thank Rosie for giving me so much joy over four days. I highly recommend the book as a gift to those who have known the Seychelles, those who never came back, and those who still live there and enjoying its eternal beauty.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
A change from my usual crime thrillers but this did not disappoint . ., 26 Feb. 2015
By By Gill Birch (Seychelles) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)

Thoroughly enjoyable. A change from my usual crime thrillers but this did not disappoint…..witchcraft, violence, passion, just a different setting from my usual ‘modern day’ settings. Definitely ticked all the right boxes and written with such feeling about a place close to the author’s heart. I would recommend.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Bittersweet Enduring Love, January 13, 2015
By By elaine m. suda (Seychelles) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Kindle Edition)

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Even though I spent more time sobbing during my reading about Anna and Louis, I am still happy that their love endured. Anna still has her baby daughter to love and reminds her of the passion she shared with Louis. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Great book . . . 14 Jan. 2015
By By N. Venus (England) (Seychelles) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Kindle Edition)

Not only did this book transport me back to the bygone days of Seychelles, it is also a gripping story that had me hooked from the start and I didn’t want it to end. Well done.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
This is an engaging, insightful novel set in the beautiful islands of the Seychelles in the 19th century . . . 3 Jan. 2015
By By MR C W HIGGINBOTHAM (Seychelles) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)

This is an engaging, insightful novel set in the beautiful islands of the Seychelles in the 19th century. It is very well written, based on the author’s own experiences and beautifully descriptive. I look forward to reading a follow-on story.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Fantastic first book – looking forward to the next ! 3 Jan. 2015
By By Joanna (Seychelles) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Kindle Edition)

I loved this book from the word go. It paints a wonderful picture of the Seychelles with its colour, scents from the many spices of the Island. I was drawn by Anna’s story, how she lived, her family, the very culture. She was an inspiring character who was so young but passionate about her beliefs. When she commits herself to something she hold steadfast and tries with all her might to make it work. She is a fighter, but is hard for her with all the closely knit catholic community and circumstances in her life that were conspiring against her.

This book is well written and I enjoyed it very much. Do read it you will not be disappointed. I can’t wait for the next book to be written.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
fantastic locations, and wonderful adventures which are all tokens . . . 7 Dec 2014
By By Frank Alphonse (Seychelles) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)

This unstoppable book is a must have and must read by all mature middle age Seychellois. It throws us back at the turn of the nineteenth century exploring the history, culture, and the practice of the way things were back then. There are all types of events that would broaden everyone’s horizons and knowledge, some of which we would be familiar with and the rest that we could have been completely oblivious to.

The writing boasts incredible characters, fantastic locations, and wonderful adventures which are all tokens of the authors commitment to their research but also their own natural charm. As previously mentioned, this is not suitable for children as the backgrounds contain extremely adult themes such as bereavement, violence, love, exaggeration and expectations.

The story simply could not have been told any better than an native and I can honestly say I enjoyed living throughout it as a witness, even if at times I felt so immersed I was finishing the sentences before my eyes could meet the end of them. It’s so much more than literature. It’s one of the first of its kind and a wake up call to the nation. Do yourself a favour and buy a copy today, because people telling you what they think they know is one thing, but reading the story for yourself is another.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
A highly entertaining debut novel, 21 May 2014
By Derick Ally (Seychelles) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)
A thoroughly enjoyable read and a vibrant, engaging plot. The author’s descriptions of what Seychelles and its society would have been like at the turn of the 20th century is done with much imagination. One can sense the amount of research that has gone into it and at no point did I say “This does not sound right” – she has remained faithful to the period. Her characters are portrayed as real people with all their strengths and weaknesses and she is not afraid describe the most intimate of their thoughts, unsavoury as some of them may be. I very much enjoyed reading ‘Echoes from the Oasis’ and would highly recommend it. I hope a sequel is on the way….
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Very touching. Written straight from the heart., 18 May 2014
By Clara Chang-TimeSee all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)
An absolutely amazing book. I cried all the way through! Brutally honest, I was blown away by the emotional intensity and feeling. The author has written a truly heartfelt and intensely personal record of her love and loss and how she dealt with the grief. This book is an extremely powerful and courageous account of how a young woman, overwhelmed with grief, finds her way through life. Having the Seychelles Islands as a background to the story really brings the pages to life. Well done A.R. Tirant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Highly recommended, 30 Jun 2014
By Ginette Ally “Echoes from the Oasis”(Brisbane, Australia) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)
A realistic insight into the lives of the Seychellois during the late 19th and early 20th century. The story line is woven around a young, white Seychelloise defying all odds for a different future! Very interesting read and looking forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Echoes from the Oasis, 9 Jun 2014
By Virginia Orrell See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
I was totally engrossed in this beautifully written story about a young woman’s life of trials and tribulations living in the Seychelles in the 1850s onwards. I could not put this book down! Highly recommend it. Well done Rosie! Look forward to the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
A book worth reading, 17 Jun 2014
By DE GREGORY See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback )
Rosie, well done the book was a pleasure to read. I could visualise being there. I learnt a lot about the history of the Seychelles and there struggles. Will have to visit again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Brilliant First Novel by Tirant, 4 Jun 2014
By Lynda Buckley See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)
Can’t put the book down! An excellent read, well written. A gripping story threading through the fascinating factual history of the beautiful Seychelles. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Intriguing, captivating and well written, 4 Aug 2014
By Miss Cunningham “Traffy” (UK) See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This book isn’t something I would ordinarily read (most of my collection falls within the fantasy/sci-fi genre) but occasionally I find a well written book outside of my normal sphere of reference which captures my interest; this was one such story. I was enchanted from start to finish. The characters and their intricate back stories are complemented by vivid descriptions of the environment and culture which surrounds them – I am going to have to reread the book again soon (at a more leisurely pace) so I can better appreciate this aspect. In addition to the carefully crafted context, the narrative itself is cleverly paced and enticing. I didn’t want to put the book down; I was reading whilst walking from the train station to the office (much to the annoyance of everyone around me)…… the only negative I can find is that I’m going to have to wait for the next one. Would definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Five stars and worth it., 16 May 2014
By Rita Marie Riches See all my reviews
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)
An interesting and, at times, an emotional read from first to last page – congratulations to the author A.R. Tirant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
passionate young love and a stunningly beautiful landscape, 7 Aug 2014
By Annette De Saulles See all my reviews
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)
A whole new world awaits the reader of this fascinating novel – war, witchcraft and superstition, rebellion, passionate young love and a stunningly beautiful landscape, as well as severe poverty and disease blend together to tell the powerful story of the Seychelles islands in the early 20th century. For anyone who, like me, had no previous knowledge of these islands and their history, you are in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
A unique and compelling story, written from the heart., 24 Aug 2014
By Margaret Moran See all my reviews
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)

Anna’s life and character stays with you after reading her story… it leaves you wanting to know what challenges are waiting for her, and your imagination works overtime to create the next book… it will be worth the wait! This book has a believable storyline and characters . Anna is transformed from a young girl with responsibilty for her siblings weighing heavily on her shoulders – to a free-thinking, sensuous young women with ambition and passion. She experiences the unacceptable shackles of a religious culture that seems to be inextricably embedded in its community.

The vivid and descriptive story-telling reminds me of Katherine Cookson novels set in Northumberland, England – but the Seychelles is a world away from there… it’s a magical place and ‘Echoes from the Oasis’ transports you to Anna’s island, to Anna’s world and you stay there ’til the last page, and beyond…

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
The book set in idyllic Seychelles is a fascinating love story, telling stories of love, 8 Oct 2014
By Merle Atkins-Phang See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)
I am not an avid book reader and when I do read it is not usually a novel, so this book really competed for my attention but as soon as I picked it up and read the first few pages I was hooked. I kept flicking to the back pages and chapters desperately wanting to know what happened next. The book set in idyllic Seychelles is a fascinating love story, telling stories of love, lust, loss, passion and intrigue. The result is a grand, immersing story telling that enthralls and at the same time plays with the emotion. The language and visuals are unmistakably the author’s, as is the way she excavates the past to illuminate the present allowing memories to reverberate in the echo chambers of the characters’ lives. I am truly remindind that when it comes to heatbreak, time is fluid. Thank you A R Tirant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
I took Echoes from the Oasis on holiday to read …, 17 July 2014
By Liz Joyce See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)
I took Echoes from the Oasis on holiday to read. I couldn’t put it down. The author creates a world where you can see, touch, taste and smell the food, the culture and the scenery of the Seychelles. Can’t wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Descriptions of the location and of her culture, from …, 17 Aug 2014
By Chris Dupee See all my reviews
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)
Descriptions of the location and of her culture, from a born storyteller, made it difficult to put the book down.I look forward to the next in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
A great read!, 29 July 2014
By Mrs AJ Stephens See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)
The attention to detail with both character and plot kept me turning the pages as fast as I could read. A lovely story, and can’t wait for the sequel now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
I loved this book, 28 Aug 2014
By Marcus Emmins See all my reviews
Verified Purchase  (What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes from the Oasis (Paperback)

I loved this book. It is an interesting mix of history , romance and much more. I learned so much about the Seychelles, that if I could I would be on the next plane! Wonderful in depth writing that really does transport you to the lives of Anna and her family.

You can feel every emotion played out by the characters in the story and this gripped me all the way to the end of the book. I hope the author has completed the second book as I really want to see want happens next!.

Well done A.R.Tirant

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?